Carmel Burgers

31 Mar

Hubs and I had planned to dine at Carmel Burgers a few different times, but we always get side tracked.  Finally, we had a casual Saturday evening and headed that way with some friends to watch some NCAA basketball and nosh on some food.

First things first, the restaurant is definitely casual.  From the website, I was expecting a more ‘comfortable’ atmosphere where you could have some drinks and watch some March Madness.  But I knew this wasn’t the case as hubs and I peeked in when we dined at Pizzology last week.  However, my friends had no idea to how casual it really was until they walked in the door.  For a party of six, we had to sit at two tables since seating is limited parties of four or less – but it is so casual that pulling some chairs aside isn’t a big deal.  And I believe there was only one tv, so space is limited if you are there to watch a game.

Hub ordered the For the Love of Bacon burger, which consisted of bleu cheese and bacon.  The burger was 1/3 lb., and had good flavor.  It was cooked all the way through (you aren’t asked how you would like it cooked, so it made me wonder if the patties were frozen), but still had juice to the bite.  His didn’t come with any veggies on the side (unlike all the other burgers our friends ordered with an overly large slice of lettuce, onions, and tomato), and he smothered his in the subtly sweet bbq condiment that was offered.  He also ordered the steak fries covered in cheese.  They were like your standard steak fries covered in a heavy dose of melted cheese sauce.  I am not a huge steak fries fan (too much potato for me – I know, ironic), which is why I say they were standard.  Note – our orders didn’t come out correctly.  My onion rings were served with hubs burger (but really, it wasn’t a big deal, just note it for the photos on why they don’t match up.)I love a good burger, but I ended up ordering the gyro.  I knew I was going to get a bite of hubs, and I’m a sucker for a good gyro.  Plus, there was an option of adding feta cheese for $.50 – I couldn’t pass that up.  The gyro was very good and quite large – I would even say it is one of the best gyro’s I’ve had in the city.  The meat was tender and I was happy to experience it as the main taste of the sandwich.  Sometimes tzaziki can be overwhelming, but there was a perfect amount this time and it gave the whole sandwich a strong, garlic taste.  I would have preferred one more tomato, and the onions didn’t bring much to the plate, and there was a heavy dose of feta.  Though I love my cheese, I think it wasn’t the wisest decision because it made the sandwich awfully salty.  There was a lot of feta – which I love – but with the tzaziki and slightly salty meat, it was a little too much for me, so next time I may cut back on it or skip it.  But I loved the components – a great sandwich.  For my side, I ordered onion rings.  And I have to confirm random dude eats random food – yes, those onion rings were good, but definitely frozen and not made in house (I asked to make sure).

Our friends all ordered the combos (a burger, fries and soda for about $6) and seemed to enjoy their burgers.  I did notice one of their burgers had an onion taste to it, though onions weren’t present, so that was slightly interesting.  One of them ordered wings as well, which come in a few different flavors.  These were basic bbq, but seemed more fatty than usual.  I guess it makes sense to not order wings at a burger joint – stick to the gyro or try a burger for sure.

One thing I really liked was the offering of sriachi as a condiment.  I feel like you don’t see that very often, so I happily dipped my onion rings into the spicy condiment.  I enjoyed that you could add your own condiments and that there was more than the ketchup and yellow mustard staples.

Overall, it was good because that was what we were going for.  A basic burger in a casual environment.  But, living down the street from another popular burger joint (and just as casual) in Carmel, I don’t know if I would make it my staple.  But for those who live in that immediate area, it has potential.

Carmel Burgers * 5790 East Main Street  * Carmel, IN * 317.848.5060

Carmel Burgers on Urbanspoon

3 Responses to “Carmel Burgers”

  1. Brent March 31, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    We both seem to be of the same mindset about this place. I didn’t hate it, but I also was not in love with it. It’s just an average burger place with some upsides and some downsides with a lot of potential if a few things were tweaked here and there.

  2. jack April 19, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    Gotta say that the fries were so good! like taste like they were cut right there and fried individually! and the Bison burger was more than perfecti will definitely be back,

    • City Nom Noms April 19, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

      Glad to hear you had a good experience – I have heard more about the Bison burger so I may have to try that version in a few months…the gyro was great, but I wasn’t overly impressed by the burger that I had a bite of, but lots of potential!

Leave a Reply

