Jersey’s Cafe

21 Apr

After being featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives, the craze hit Carmel for some cheese steaks.  And not just any cheese steaks, but from Jersey’s Cafe.  I personally was surprised hubs and I hadn’t dined there before – after all, we live 5 minutes from the place.  It is tucked back in a strip mall which may be how we missed it for so long.  After attempting to grab lunch there a week or so ago (they are closed on Sunday), we tried again on this past Monday afternoon.

Signs posted everywhere warn patrons that they may encounter a long wait, but we figured at 2:30 on a Monday this wouldn’t be the case.  Well, we still had to wait about 10 minutes, but this is because they were short staffed and only seating half the restaurant.  But those 10 minutes allowed us to review the menus, so I was okay with the short wait.  Yes, menus…for there are two of them.  One is the ‘standard’ menu consisting of deli sandwiches, salads, stuffed potatoes, sides and beverages.  The next listed what they are known for: steaks, hoagies and rippers (hot dogs that are fried until breaking open).

While we waited, I also had time to look around a bit.  The restaurant is themed for New Jersey love, which of course include New York due to proximity.  Yankee lamps, Garden State posters and other miscellaneous items adorned the walls and also were incorporated into sandwich names.  One random thing – teddy bears.  Lots of them stuffed in the corner.  I’m not sure if these are solely on display or up for sale, but either way, they left me utterly confused in decor terms.

Since there are so many options, I had a very difficult time narrowing down my order.  I ended up with the New York cheese steak.  Italian seasoned steak was mixed with sauteed onions and mushrooms before being smothered in melted provolone cheese.  I loved the oregano sprinkled all over and how cheesy the sandwich was.  I eagerly ate my way through the stuffed baked good.  The bread was great – it soaked up all the juices of the meat while still remaining crunchy on the outside.  It was a very large portion and I easily packaged up one half for lunch the next day.  I also had some potato chips on the side – basic bagged chips, not made in house.

Hubs decided to go classic on our first visit by ordering a cheese steak.  He added grilled mushrooms to his sandwich, which complimented the sliced steak.  I loved that the steak wasn’t too thin or thick, but perfectly sliced.  Covered in American cheese, it was creamy and never dry.  Piping hot, you had to watch to ensure that you didn’t burn your mouth.  I enjoyed his a bit more than mine – it was all about the cheese I guess.

Overall, I loved the sandwich.  I didn’t love the time it took for us to receive our sandwich.  Despite being short staffed, I feel the wait is standard and something you should anticipate.  Each table has a deck of cards which I’m sure is due to the wait time.  I assume they are well aware that it takes a while to prepare the food which is why they provide the entertainment.  The service was good, attentive to soda refills and quick with other service requests.  Despite being a Red Sox fan and not a lover of New York sports teams in general, I’ll still return.  But I would lean more towards carry out so I didn’t have to a) wait for a table and b) wait for my food.  I wish I had known about Jersey’s prior to this year, that’s for sure.

Jersey’s Cafe * 13710 N. Meridian Street, Carmel * 317.846.7760

Jersey's Cafe on Urbanspoon

5 Responses to “Jersey’s Cafe”

  1. Brent April 22, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    They do have house made chips, but I think they are served as a separate app. I chose the potato salad with my sandwich and I liked it significantly more than bagged chips.

    • City Nom Noms April 26, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

      Thanks for the tip – is it a more mayo based potato salad? To be honest, I was so overwhelmed by my sandwich selection, I was completely not prepared to order a side. Next time, I’ll have a better game plan!

      • Brent April 28, 2011 at 2:52 am #

        It’s actually more mustard based. I agree though I had a tough time picking a sandwich so the side was kind of an afterthought.

      • City Nom Noms April 30, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

        Agreed – I’ll have to try it next time (or at least find out what their sides are!)

  2. Amanda Bruce June 10, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    My hub and I have been eating here at least 2 years before DD&D came through and have always liked it. We are not the most patient people, but when the food is good, I don’t mind. I really like the the Cherryhill Cheesesteak and The Eli. We took our friend who grew up in Jersey here, and he said that it was the closest to ‘home’ that he’s had since being in Indiana the last 15 years. By frequenting on various days and times, we have noticed that there are often people there from out East who talk with the owners about stuff from back ‘home.’ As for sides, I recently tried the applesauce, and after eating it wish that I had more. Before that, I’d gotten the potato salad and liked it. It’s a different place for a sandwich, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

