Detour: An American Grille

3 Jun

Though we live right down the Monon from Detour, our busy schedule of being out of town since it opened (first weekend in May I believe) until Memorial Day weekend.  Normally, I don’t take out of town guests to a restaurant I haven’t tried before, but after learning about a wait time of one hour and fifteen minutes at another local (yet obviously popular) location, we decided to give a it a try.

We walked into the restaurant and I was overwhelmed to see at least six employees at the host stand.  I didn’t know who to speak with since they were all smiling and willing to help, but out of four of them working together, we were immediately sat outside (per our request) on the side patio.  I only got a little peak at the restaurant through the garage style doors, and from what I saw, I loved it.  An open and inviting sports bar type of restaurant, there was also a large bar with many tv’s.  I could easily see kicking back for a few drinks and appetizers.

After a few moments, a server took our drink order and let us know our main server would be by to take our food order in a minute.  Our server took a little bit, but I was happy to have the time to really look through the menu.  There was quite a variety, ranging from appetizers to plated entrees.  I did think for a quick second that some of their sides and overall feel of the menu was similar to a local chain in the city though.  We had ordered a few drinks (3 Floyd’s Gumball Head for me, Sun King’s Cream Ale for hubs and a Caribbean Lemonade for my brother) from their extensive drink menu and I was happy to see the variety of drinks specials and local brews on draft.

One of my favorite foods is nachos, so I immediately wanted to make this my meal.  But with all of the options available, we ordered it as an appetizer to split.  During our wait, I noticed it was taking quite a while to receive our appetizer.  When our lunch came out, I knew then our nachos were misplaced and asked the staff who delivered our food to cancel the order.  I made a note that next time, I needed to order it as my meal.

For lunch, my brother ordered the Detour burger, one of their many signature items on the menu.  The burger arrived medium rare as requested and was presented on a fajita platter with melted Swiss cheese, sauteed mushrooms and onions, and applewood smoked bacon which the server scooped onto the brioche bun.  I’m not sure the presentation of the fajita platter is necessary, but it still looked great and my brother enjoyed his burger.  What he didn’t enjoy, and I have to agree, is the lack of onion rings he ordered as his side.  He literally only received two – we both expected more.

Hubs ordered the Bypass sandwich, another signature item.  Italian meat was chopped and mixed with pickled peppers, carrots, onions and celery and covered with mozzarella cheese.  I gave the sandwich a little nibble as hubs said it was pretty good, and I agree.  The meat was tender on the crusty French bread.  A bit more cheese and a bit more spice and I would have really liked it.  By a bit, I’m not talking Triple Bypass though – which is Detour’s eating challenge.  Two pounds of meat on a 30 inch loaf of Italian Bread?  Too much for me, though I’d cheer on anyone taking on the challenge.

I ordered the jalapeno-dijon burger.  It was a little overdone for me (I had ordered it medium well and it was definitely well done), thus a little dry, but I could see it being a good burger.  I enjoyed the grilled jalapeno toppings – I expected either pickled jalapenos or raw (and fresh!) jalapenos, so it was a nice touch.  A thin slice of white cheddar cheese left me wanting just a little bit more, but the dijon layered brioche top was perfect in portion lending the right amount of mustard flavor to the spicy sandwich.  For a side, I ordered the messy waffle fries (as did hubs) and was pleased with the portion and toppings.

Due to the nacho mishap, Steve (who I believe was on the on-duty manager?) came over and apologized profusely.  He let us know it would be removed from our bill and offered their signature dessert, Gavin’s Chocolate Chip Cookie, to help make up for the nachos.  Who can refuse a cookie delivered with great service? Once we were done dining, he brought out the cookie, direct from the oven.  A partially cooked large cookie (just the way I like them!) was delivered, piping hot and tender.  Served with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream and chocolate sauce, it easily craved my desire for something sweet.  It reminded me of cookie dough ice cream, but with the cold and warm concept mixed in.

As for service, there were plenty of people working as I mentioned in the beginning.  Our server wasn’t very attentive until the nacho mishap occurred, but I am not aware of how busy he was with any indoor tables (I didn’t see him waiting on anyone else on the patio).  Steve checked in a variety of times:  immediately when we had canceled the nacho order, once during our meal, delivered dessert and checked in one more time to ensure we were all good.  Plus, I did get to speak with Matt (who also manages the social media) from the management team.  He stopped by to apologize and thank us for stopping in.  We chatted about their hours and variety of events they have planned as well.  The conversation really got me excited for the new local restaurant.

I look forward to dining at Detour again as well as everything that it will bring to the Carmel Arts & Design District.  As a twenty something, our options of a sports bar and place to have a few drinks late at night and within walking distance were limited.  Though I enjoy Muldoon’s, the hours aren’t accommodating in the evening and the other pub on Main Street is heavy with smoke.  I may make Wednesday nights Detour nights due to Trivia, and Sam King will be playing acoustics as will other bands on the weekends.  Poker night is going to start up on Mondays and for those who like to sing, you have karaoke on Tuesday.  Plus, in the same building is Taste of Sensu, a Pan Asian restaurant that I am also looking forward to trying (both restaurants are managed by the same company).   I may have a difficult time ordering a burger here with Bub’s directly across the Monon, but I will NOT have a hard time returning to try everything else.  After all, I still need to try the nachos, and from what I’ve heard, I’ll have plenty to share.  Who’s in – nachos and trivia next Wednesday?

Detour: An American Grille * 110 W. Main St * Carmel, IN * 317.571-.0091

Detour: An American Grill on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Detour: An American Grille”

  1. Tomas Johanssen January 26, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    Small suggestion. NEVER order to go from this establishment. ToGo orders are treated as second class citizens, and the portions are half the size if I were to eat in the restaurant. I too have experienced the onion ring fiasco, and empathize with that, especially after it happened three times to us. When the restaurant opened I was initially excited, as they are within viewing distance let alone walking distance from our home. However, after the first two weeks, and the midnight weekday concerts with the garage door open, I have become irritated with Carmel’s desire to be the new Broad Ripple. You 20-somethings may enjoy this, but us family folk like it when our children can actually get to bed at a reasonable hour on a school night.

    That said, they have always been quick to fix a problem, and more than willing to assist. All it takes is a simply tweet or a phone call and the band quiets, for a while.

    My biggest complaint are the drunkards stumbling down the monon and in front of my home late in the evening. I have personally witnessed public urination, oral sex and other copulation, as well as vomit, multiple times. This is supposed to be a nice neighborhood, and now I want to move.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Taste of Carmel (Special Event) « - February 22, 2012

    [...] DeTour- An American Grille [...]

Leave a Reply

