Kilroy’s

28 Jun

Bestie and I were making our way to a show, so we stopped at Kilroy’s for a quick dinner.  I had dined here before with hubs and wasn’t overly impressed, but thought another go was in order.  It was packed but we were lucky enough to find a seat.  Unfortunately, our server didn’t find us for quite a while.  Though frustrating, it helped me decide what I really wanted for dinner and allowed time to review the massive list of Long Island iced tea pitchers they offer as drinks.

We decided to share a small order of their breadsticks because we both remembered how delicious they were last time we had them.  I really enjoy these breadsticks, stuffed with mozzarella and pepperoni.  The flavors are exactly what I look for in a stuffed breadstick.  The dough is tender and stretches perfectly with the cheese, but has the perfectly crisp outer layer to munch into.  The pepperoni is flavorful, a perfect accompaniment to the nacho cheese (which is standard) and marinara (same thing, standard).

For dinner, I had the fish and chips.  Nothing but disappointment here, I have to admit, the worst fish and chips I’ve had.  The breading was horrible, thick and overwhelming.  The fish was non-existent within it.  I tried to peel away the breading only to find a feeble piece of overcooked fish.  When the server cleared my plate, it looked like I hadn’t even touched it because the breading was still intact with just the fish removed.  To make the experience even more appalling, the server didn’t ask how I ‘enjoyed’ dinner.  She just cleared the plates and disappeared again without concern.

Service was slow and I left completely dissatisfied.  If I return, I will only be ordering appetizers and drinks at the bar.  I should have stuck to my original plan and just concentrated on an appetizer for dinner.

Kilroy’s * 201 S. Meridian * Indy, 46225 * 317.638.9464

Kilroy's Bar N' Grill on Urbanspoon

4 Responses to “Kilroy’s”

  1. Brent June 28, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    Being an IU grad, especially one from an era prior to the downtown Indy Kilroy’s, I tend to think of Kilroy’s as a bar with cheap drink specials and little else. I didn’t even know the downtown one served actual food besides breadsticks, and I don’t think I’d even contemplate getting a meal there. It stinks that the fish and chips were so bad, but who needs them when you can wash away the taste with cheap cocktails and badass breadsticks.

    • City Nom Noms June 29, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

      I had never heard of Kilroy’s until it opened here – we should have chatted prior to my attempt for dinner. Now I know it is only an appetizer and drink venue. And I have to agree, the breadsticks are stellar – I’d return for those and cheap drinks. But not for anything else!

      • Brent June 29, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

        You should take trip down to Bloomington sometime, and stop in for happy hour at the original Kilroy’s. After you’re done there are all kinds of cool independent restos in B-town. It really has a lot of them for a city its size. A lot of them are neat ethnic places too.

      • City Nom Noms June 30, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

        I was just speaking with someone last night that said the exact same thing – I’ve never been, so I’ll add it to me ‘to-do’ list!

Leave a Reply

