Jason’s Deli

5 Aug

It’s hubs birthday weekend and we kicked it off with Cirque du Soleil’s Dralion show on Thursday night.  Prior to heading downtown, we stopped in the neighborhood for a quick bite at the new Jason’s Deli, located on N.Meridian.  I knew there was a location in the Keystone area as well, but had never been.  Didn’t know quite what to expect, but the recent advertising of the pastrami made hubs craving intense.

First off, this isn’t a huge deal, but something to note.  There are two doors to enter, one for take-out and one for dine in.  I don’t really see the point since you need to go towards the same area for both.  Seemed like  unnecessary organizing (and that says a lot coming from me).  Either way, when you walk in, there is a stand for take-out orders, and directly behind the stand is where you order for dine in.  We reviewed the menu by the door (the menu is not posted above or by the ordering station, so know what you want before you get there) and made our way to the counter.

Hubs ordered the reuben on white (he isn’t a rye fan) and mentioned it was one of the best he had.  I did take a bite and thought it was good too.  Tender corned beef with a pile of sauerkraut and melted swiss.  I didn’t taste the thousand island in my bite, but hubs assured me (with a full mouth) it was there.  If you have seen any of the advertisements for this place, it is the sandwich that they feature.  And for the month of August, it is a mere $6 along with all the other specialty sandwiches.

I ordered the ‘Big Joe’ with a side salad. The side salad is actually a single trip to the salad bar.  This is what will separate this deli from others.  Unlike other sandwich places, their niche is a build your own salad bar.  Three types of greens (mixed, iceberg and spinach) with a myriad of toppings to choose from.  There were three different types of pasta salads, cottage cheese, chocolate pudding, etc. as well.  A few baked goods were also available.  I loaded up a plate and grabbed two of the mini-muffins (cause mini gets me every time) while we waited on the sandwiches.  The muffins were extremely dry and the garlic toasts a little too oily for me.  But the salad was good, a solid build your own buffet.  A little pricey as a side ($3.99), but I was craving some greens.

The Big Joe was basically a Mediterranean style turkey sandwich.  Lightly toasted focaccia was the base, the turkey was tender and extremely juicy.  Overall, the whole sandwich was extremely juicy.  I’m sure this is because there was a garlicky pesto spread on the bread and a touch of mayo.  I’m not sure the mayo was needed, but it did give a good tang to the already great tasting sandwich.  Roasted tomatoes also provided some sweetness (and more liquid I’m sure) to the sandwich which was appreciated with the rich flavors of the spreads.  Asiago cheese gave a slight sharpness to the creamy sandwich.  Overall, the sandwich was a little heavy and rich in taste, but very good.  Next time, I think I would pass on the mayo to try to lighten it up a bit.  It was also served with a classic deli side of a pickle and potato chips, a great salty accompaniment to this particular sandwich (you can also get baked chips upon request).

I think the best surprise of this visit was the ice cream at the end.  There is a soft serve ice cream machine, available to all patrons, to give you that little bit of sweet at the end (that is, if you don’t opt to purchase one of their desserts when ordering food).  Your basic soft server of vanilla, chocolate or swirl – cones and chocolate syrup is also available if you want to get ‘fancy’.  A nice extra touch that may set them apart from other deli’s in the area.

Jason’s Deli * 12405 N. Meridian * Carmel, 46032 * 317.569.1473

Jason's Deli on Urbanspoon

4 Responses to “Jason’s Deli”

  1. Andrew August 6, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Thanks for the review! I tried going to the location at Keystone the other day but the lack of parking and construction in the are made it difficult. By the time I got to the front door the line was huge so I went elsewhere. Looks like I need to give it another shot!

    • City Nom Noms August 8, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      The sandwich I had was good, and hubs really enjoyed his. I don’t know if I would get the salad bar as a side – $4 for one trip didn’t seem worth it to me. But definitely keep an eye out for the soft serve at the end! Enjoy, and thanks for reading!

  2. IndyRealtyQueen August 8, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    I went to Jason’s Deli last week when they opened (Monday) and it seemed pretty busy so I shyed away… Great post, must try soon ;)

    • City Nom Noms August 8, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

      Thanks Nina – I definitely say give it a try. It is a good sandwich place, something a little bit different than the rest in the area. And as I told Andrew, I can’t pass up self service soft serve!

Leave a Reply

