Sakura

3 Oct

Sushi.  Something that many people don’t trust here in the Midwest.  After all, we are landlocked so people often question the freshness and quality, thus the taste and dependability to find consistency in the area.  I’m quite a fan of sushi.  But I really don’t have a ‘favorite’ in the city. But that doesn’t stop me from noshing.

I enjoy a few sushi restaurants I’ve reviewed or dined at in the past, one being Sakura.  It doesn’t look like much on the outside, or even in the inside.  If you don’t know about the restaurant, you may have passed it numerous times while driving on Keystone.  I hadn’t been for years – literally – and then a friend asked to meet up for lunch there.  I quickly remembered really enjoying it and asked myself “why haven’t I returned?” as I drove there to meet up with her.

When I walked in, I wasn’t surprised to see it busy.  This place is always busy, which to me, is a good sign.  That means you are going to get some great food.  And when I say busy, don’t expect the service to be slow.  I only have to wait for a table, not my food, as they are always on top of things.  My friend and her colleague had already sat down which meant I didn’t have to wait for a table.  Fine by me as I slide into the booth and started to drool looking at the sushi bar.  They had already ordered, so I quickly made the decision to go with a basic lunch special. Sushi lunch #1 to be exact.

While they nibbled on some squid, my miso soup and salad came out.  I love ginger dressing, and this was the expected ginger dressing that you get on your crisp iceberg lettuce.  I didn’t expect anything less and I didn’t need anything more.  It was simple, expected, and standard.  The miso was the same – chunks of tofu, mushrooms and kale floating in the dashi (miso broth).  Once again, expected.  No complaints, but nothing to rave about.

But let’s be honest.  Normally, you don’t go to sushi restaurants for their salad and soup.  You go for the sushi – which is why I ordered a variety of nigiri and a handroll.  The nigiri consisted of tuna, yellow tail, shrimp, krab and eel.  All were delightfully fresh tasting, without any fishy smell or taste.  I could have done without the krab as it wasn’t in line with my sushi fish needs at that time.  Don’t get me wrong, I have this guilty pleasure with sitting down with a package of ‘krab’ from the grocery store.  Yes, I’m talking about the bright orange strips.  Hand raised and guilty – I love the stuff.  But when I go out for sushi, I’m not really wanting that.  I really enjoyed the yellow tail – it was probably my favorite.  Well, other than the handroll.

There is something I love about handrolls.  They are messy to eat, but there is something about their design in structure that makes me love them.  And Sakura’s softshell crab is divine.  Yes, it is covered in a spicy mayo based sauce, but this is the exception I make for this roll.  I love the crispness of the crab, mixed with the rice and seaweed wrap. It is probably the reason I’ll continue to return to Sakura – it was after all, the first thing I ever ate there.  And you can judge and say “eating fried crab with a mayo based sauce isn’t liking sushi.”  I know it isn’t your standard sushi – like the eel or squid that I also snacked on – but it doesn’t mean that it isn’t good my friends!

With all of this, I’m curious.  What do you think is the best place for sushi?  Would love to hear your thoughts!

Sakura * 7201 N. Keystone * Indy, 46240 * 317.259.4171

Sakura Japanese on Urbanspoon

6 Responses to “Sakura”

  1. Aimee October 3, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    I dig the soft shell maki roll at Sakura/Ocean World and the tuna rolls. It’s my go-to place for sushi. Sakura/OW owns a seafood market in Chicago– which accounts for the freshness.
    I also like the soy paper rolls at Kona J.’s– which are more $ than Sakura…

    • City Nom Noms October 3, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

      Ocean World is another place that I enjoy too. Also a fan of iSushi in Carmel. One of these days, I’ll have to try Sensu though I’ve heard it can be overpriced. Taste of Sensu is right by my home, so maybe soon! Thanks for reading!

  2. Erin L. October 4, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    Sakura was my first sushi experiance that I actually enjoyed. I haven’t been there in ages, maybe it’s time for me to go back. I’m in Noblesville so most sushi places are a bit of a drive for me. We usually end up at Wild Ginger or Wasabi on 82nd. I love tuna rolls and anything with white tuna, I’ll take two of.

    • City Nom Noms October 4, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

      I’ve been to Wasabi once, but had things other than sushi. I remember really liking it, hubs did too. Thanks for the reminder, and thanks for commenting!

  3. Beth October 4, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    Sakura is my favorite sushi place in the city! It has the freshest, most delicious rolls for reasonable prices. Favorite is the Florida roll, though there are many other yummy ones on our favorites list! I do also enjoy Ichiban Noodles occasionally, although their rolls are small and usually have too much mayo in them.

    • City Nom Noms October 4, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

      Agreed, it is really reasonable. I may have to try it for something other than sushi in the future! Thanks for commenting, it is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

