Scratchtruck (Food Truck)

6 Oct

This past Tuesday, I randomly took off from work to enjoy the day with hubs.  We spent the beautiful day catching up on tv in the am before spending a few hours at the dog park in the afternoon.  But in the middle of all the fun, I found via twitter Scratch truck was across the street, parked outside of Holy Cow Cupcakes.   My excitement was hard to contain as I demanded asked hubs to take a walk with me so I could finally try them.  I mean, how lucky am I?  The day I take off is the day they decide to be in my neighborhood.  We grabbed the pups and headed out the door.

Lucky for me, there were only two people in line.  There were quite a few others already milling around the place, happily munching on their food or drooling as they waited.  I found there were a few special items, including a grilled cheese sandwich that looked divine, but I opted for an item that looked like a staple: the spicy chicken cone.  I ordered that with fries and paid under $8.  Not to mention, the woman who took my order was probably one of the nicest people ever.  Loved the personality and thanking by the first name.  So far, so good.

They called out my name with more pleasantries as I picked up my order and grabbed a few napkins.  I took a seat on the curb with pups and hubs (who had opted to not eat, he wasn’t hungry) to dig in.  The fries were freshly made, double fried.  But, they weren’t consistent in their taste.  A few had that oil taste, that smokey oil taste that sometimes is picked up when items are double fried.  But overall, theyhad really great flavor and I would order them again as my side.  They were salted well and were what I expect out of fries that are comfort food.

The actual wrap, aka cone, was also good.  The cone didn’t seem like it was really needed – maybe it initially helped keep the shape, but it wasn’t doing anything once I got it.  The tortilla was a basic white flour vehicle for the contents.  I was expecting spicy when I took my first bite, but it didn’t happen.  I wouldn’t have even known it was supposed to be spicy if you didn’t tell me.  The chicken was a fried tender, nothing too special, but crisp and everything a tender should be.  You could see in the breading it was probably meant to be spicy, but once again, I didn’t taste that.  I really enjoyed the coleslaw, slightly sweet and not dressed heavily with mayo.  But, once again, no spice of jalapenos in my share.  The ancho chili ailoi was slathered all over.  Though it once again, lacked any spice factor, I did enjoy the subtly smokey flavor it had, as well as the creamy texture that complimented the crisp chicken.

Though the wrap didn’t have the spicy factor I anticipated, I really enjoyed my lunch.  I greedily licked my fingers at the end and tried to convince hubs he was hungry so I could sample something else.  I loved that Scratch made its way north to Carmel, and hope others may follow this trend – both for lunch and dinner since I can’t take every day off.  And I absolutely love where they parked.  Not only was it convenient from my home, but I had been craving something sweet, so Holy Cow helped fill that too.  I’ll post soon on that craving.

If anyone is heading to this Friday’s food truck festival downtown and gets to try the grilled cheese, please comment and let me know what I was missing.  I’m sure it was delish!

Scratch Street Food * Various Locations in Indy, find them on twitter * @scratchtruck

Scratchtruck (Mobile Food) on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Scratchtruck (Food Truck)”

  1. KMH October 9, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    I had the grilled cheese twice this week; it is divine! I’ve already begged that it become a permanent menu item. The green chili mac and cheese is also amazing, and must contain all of the spice you were missing, plus a nice bit of sweetness from the roasted corn. This week’s dessert was a caramel pudding with crumbled Oreo cookies and a salted caramel sauce. Party. In. My. Mouth. :) I am lucky that they are often near me (in SoBro) at least once per week!

    • City Nom Noms October 13, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

      I’m definitely going to have to get the grilled cheese next time I see it. And all I’m craving today is mac and cheese, so that sounds great. You are a lucky girl to get that food once a week! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

