iCafe

7 Feb

I had bought this Groupon for iCafe a while back, so hubs and I made our way there on a Saturday morning for a quick bite to eat before running errands. I didn’t really know what to expect, but figured it would be more of a ‘third space’ like a Starbucks rather than a sit down restaurant. Either way, we were looking for something satisfying, fast, and with $10 credit on hand, cheap.

Upon our arrival, there were only a few people inside. An older couple each reading sections of the paper while enjoying a cup of a coffee; two young business men chatting over their laptops about a work project. Not a restaurant, but a third space. A place to grab a cup of joe and relax with your favorite book or digital device. This is exactly what the individuals were doing, so I was cautious about what we were doing there.

We sauntered our way up to the counter and were immediately greeted by one of the two individuals working. I ordered a hot chai latte and french toast bake while hubs ordered the breakfast nachos and a coffee. Then, we waited. We had to wait a good 5 minutes for our coffee drinks – a bit longer than the usual wait at a Starbucks. And then we waited some more. It took about 25 minutes for us to receive our breakfast items – something that shouldn’t happen in a quick service local.

The food left me wanting more. Hubs breakfast nachos weren’t what I would have expected, and they were actually the reason we waited for our meal. The woman who dropped off our food said she had to make the chips since they were out. From what he got, it was basically a wrap that they would use for their lunch sandwiches cut up and baked. A scrambled egg, bacon crumbles, fresh veggies and a blend of cheese were in the center of the plate. It was very basic in flavor, nothing extraordinary but nothing inedible either. I would have liked to see chips a bit different, and maybe melted cheese. It definitely left us both desiring more.

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I ordered the french toast bake, but I know I wasn’t expecting a cinnamon french toast muffin. But that really is what I got. Almost like a dry monkey bread, pieces of bread were soaked in eggs, milk and cinnamon. I would have liked to see a more tender interior as it was pretty dry. But, the flavors of french toast were there, heavy in cinnamon which is what I love. I just wish I had know that was what it would have been – I guess I could have asked, but either way, I ended up with a glorified muffin. I did like that it was served with maple syrup, which helped the bake. I’d get again…maybe.

Overall, I would say it is a good place to grab a cup of coffee with friends or while enjoying a book. Maybe a snack, but I wouldn’t recommend going here for a substantial meal by any means. Which, now that I read their website, is what they seem to be going for. Pricing was what I would expect where the coffee drinks are more than the food. I think our bill without the coffee was only $8. I liked the environment – comfortable chairs with a fireplace in the center of the room. The logo left me a bit confused with the branding as it seemed out of place with the comfortable atmosphere. But, I’d stop by again for a cup of coffee if I was in the area, or if I was looking for a different work space.

iCafe * 2316 E. 116th Street * Carmel, 46032

iCafe on Urbanspoon

4 Responses to “iCafe”

  1. Bruce February 11, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    Good assessment! Inspite of repeated attempts to help them with social media they haven’t really grasped twitter and its benefits to a new establishment in building a local following

    • City Nom Noms February 12, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

      More marketing than the ad flier would be great for them – they could utilize your help!

      • Mina Dimitri March 8, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

        I am actually the owner of iCafe.. We have been trying to be extremely active on facebook and twitter with daily update.. our twitter is iCafefans and facebook is simply iCafe and we trying to create good number of followers..

        We can definitly use any extra help with advertisment.. we are working hard to speed up the time it takes to make the food… all our items are made fresh upon ordering.. We have been trying to visit businesses, churches, community events, live music, money mailer, direct mail, etc..

        I would like to invite you to enjoy so of our fresh baked bastries, and our amazing soups, salads, and sandwich

      • City Nom Noms March 8, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

        Hi Mina – thanks for reading and commenting. Glad to hear that you are looking to amp up your marketing – I think it would be great for you. I did see you at Taste of Carmel, which I’m sure will help with your PR. Best of luck as you continue to work out your kinks and improve the great third space you provide to the clientele.

Leave a Reply

