Lulu’s Coffee + Bakehouse

10 Apr

Coffee shops. Indy may not be Seattle where Starbucks are on almost every corner. And because of that, we have other great, local coffee shops that we are able to pop in before work. Lulu’s is one of them. Lulu’s Coffee + Bakehouse, formerly named Lulu’s Electric Cafe, has not only changed their name and locations (moved from 86th and Ditch towards Township Line), but also the overall feel of their space.

A casual, slightly artsy type of environment, Lulu’s is a relaxed third space for a group of 10-15 individuals at one time. A few small tables, a comfy couch here, and a little game playing area there behind the coffee beans for sale. I really liked the vibe of the shop. But unfortunately, it was a little before 8am and I had to get to work for the day. Sitting down and enjoying the paper wasn’t an option on that Friday morning.

My co-worker (and friend) and I ordered our drinks from the friendly man behind the counter. He was thoughtful in explaining the different brews available that day as we perused the menu of the items available. Of course, with perfect placement by Lulu’s, I had to grab a cinnamon chip scone for my breakfast nibble. The scone was very light, not dense or heavy like I normally anticipate with a scone. And though it wasn’t what I anticipated, I still enjoyed every bite. Almost like a cinnamon muffin with more fluff. The cinnamon spice was perfect in the baked good as I quickly ate it all. And the coffee, I had ordered their medium roast, was a good cup of coffee. It was hot in temperature, not too strong or light in flavor either. Not to mention, the fancy top kept the coffee in place when driving.

I look forward to stopping in Lulu’s again, especially with the image of the scone in my head. Maybe a sandwich next time?

Lulu’s Coffee + Bakehouse* 2292 W. 86th Street * Indy, 46260 *317.879.1995

Lulu's Coffee + Bakehouse on Urbanspoon

4 Responses to “Lulu’s Coffee + Bakehouse”

  1. mahasininthemorning April 10, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    Lulu’s is awesome. I highly recommend you try the quiche.

    • City Nom Noms April 10, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

      I definitely need to try something other than the baked goods – thanks for the tip!

  2. Maria April 10, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    Lulu’s is great! Here are a few of my favorite things from there:
    Iced blended almond joy coffee
    The BLT
    The lemonade (when they have it in the summer)
    Root beer float
    The apple salad
    Everyone that works there is always super nice!

    • City Nom Noms April 10, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

      A root beer float and BLT sandwich sound divine for lunch. Thanks for the heads up on all your favorite things!

Leave a Reply

