Brunchies

8 Apr

Hubs and I decided to give Jersey Cafe a try before the craziness of Diners, Drive-In’s and Dives takes over (episode hasn’t been shown yet, but Guy Fiere made it one of his stops while in the Indy area recently), especially since it is near our house.  I have no idea how we missed it – but alas, it is closed on Sunday’s.  But, right next store, Brunchies was open and busy on the Sunday morning.  We had dined here about a year ago with my parents randomly, and remembered it being good and reasonably priced, so we stopped in.

The wait was a mere 20 minutes, and from the looks of it, they have opened up more space since last time we had visited.  The open kitchen was bustling, which gave us something to watch during our short wait.  The four line cooks made omelets, fried up bacon and toasted some bread all in an orderly fashion, never wandering from their small space in the line.  From watching them, I knew what I didn’t want to order due to the standard oil, butter and frying that was happening.  Don’t get me wrong, I know it is part of the diner kitchen scene, but after watching it, I just wasn’t in the mood.

I opted for one of their menus listed healthy items, the crunchy french toast.  Thick slices of bread were coated in cereal, corn flakes I believe, to give each taste that perfect crisp bite.  Without the crisp, fried edge that you get with french toast when fried on a griddle, I was happy to not have the sometimes greasy taste.  Instead, I got a nice crunch, and since the toast was thick, it still was soft on the inside with a slight egg taste.  Unfortunately, without all the butter normally used to make french toast, it left this a bit dry.  It was a good thing to have some maple syrup served on the side – would have been better if it was warm, but room temp was good for this.   Slices of bananas and strawberries were adorned on top, giving a perfect fresh flavor to the dish.  Definitely filling, I actually only ate one slice and happily thought how it would be fantastic for breakfast on Monday.

One of the reasons I ate only one slice was because I had to try to the biscuits and gravy too.  Someone had recommended them via twitter, so hubs and I (okay, really me) ordered a half order to give it a taste.  I’m not sure what a full serving consists of because the half was definitely a healthy (okay, healthy shouldn’t be the descriptive term here for gravy…how about large?) serving of biscuits smothered in the white sausage gravy.  The biscuits were thinner than I expected, but they had a nice consistency to them.  The main taste and component of the dish was the gravy which was smooth and had a thick texture.  A spiced sausage was crumbled throughout, working with the subtlety of the pepper seasoned gravy.  I’m not a huge black pepper fan (sometimes white gravy can be very strong in that flavor) so I was happy to taste the pepper, but not have it overwhelm my palate.  Served with a side of hash browns, I would have preferred for them to be more crispy.  Overall, not the best biscuits and gravy, but decent for the price.  I wasn’t too interested in hashbrowns, so hubs decided to take them home to add onto his leftovers.

I had a bite of hubs breakfast burrito he ordered and it was pretty good.  Full of cheese, eggs, diced green peppers (he omitted onions) and sausage, the burrito was a good size for breakfast.  There were a lot of green peppers – maybe to compensate for the lack of onions.  My favorite part of the burrito was the tortilla: chewy but slightly grilled, it had a good texture for a wrap.  I can only hope that they use these for their lunch wraps.

We were only given the breakfast menu, but I believe they also serve lunch.  Salads, sandwiches and wraps, I’m sure it is a decent meal as their breakfast is.  We ordered and gobbled all of our food and drinks for under $20, so a good value as well.  Especially considering that we both have breakfast for the next day from our leftovers.  And the service, full of smiles and friendly gestures.   Our server was attentive and made you feel like a friend, especially when offering me a cup of coffee to go.

Brunchies * 13732 N. Meridian Street * Carmel, IN * 317.846.8820

Brunchies on Urbanspoon

6 Responses to “Brunchies”

  1. Erin April 8, 2011 at 2:04 am #

    Hey there! Found your food blog the other day and really like it! I recently moved to the area and love eating out as well, so I thought “food blog, why not?” Just wanted to tell you your blog was cute and that I also refer to my husband as Hubs!!! I promise I did not steal it from you, it’s merely coincidence…I may to organically change up his nickname 🙂 Looking forward to more of your Indy food adventures.

    • City Nom Noms April 8, 2011 at 2:25 am #

      Thanks for reading, and welcome to the area! Hope you & the hubs find good eats!

  2. jonathan adler April 8, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    Just FYI, Jersey’s Cafe’s episode ran back in March.

    • City Nom Noms April 11, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      Thanks – I did see that. They even have a sign that is posted to warn people that the wait time might be ridiculous! Thanks for checking in!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jersey’s Cafe « - April 21, 2011

    […] the place.  It is tucked back in a strip mall which may be how we missed it for so long.  After attempting to grab lunch there a week or so ago (they are closed on Sunday), we tried again on this past […]

  2. Brunchies (return) « - June 9, 2011

    […] tried wasn’t open due to the holiday, so we opted to return to Brunchies despite being there last month due to the proximity.  I thought I’d review since I was looking at something different this […]

Leave a Reply

