Devour Downtown (Special Event)

8 Aug

Like many of the other Indy based food bloggers, I am excited for another round of Devour Downtown.  This event happens twice a year; once in the winter and once in the summer.  Devour is when a collection of restaurants feature a menu for $30 per person.  A few do offer a menu for two at the $30 price, while others offer a lunch menu.  This is a long standing event and others (like Midtown) have sprung up to match the concept.  It is a great event to participate in, especially if you are looking for something new without wanting to pay full dollar.

For some of these restaurants, it is quite a deal.  In the winter, hubs and I dined at Fogo de Chao.  I encourage people to try the restaurant, especially if you are a meat lover (though the salad bar is quite nicely).  It can be slightly pricey for dinner so you are saving at  least $10 a person with Devour’s pricing. But when Devour is happening, check it out for lunch.  Same thing that dinner offers, just at a better price.

Other restaurants I don’t really see a money saving opportunity or real value.

Plus, I was beginning to be frustrated that it is the same restaurants every year.  This time around, there are a few more added to the list.  However, I’m not taking advantage of them.  I know, I complain about it, but don’t take them up on the offer?  Well, some of the menus just don’t look that great to me.  I’m sure they are lovely, but I want to really be drawn by the food options or the restaurant.

This year, I’ve made two reservations.  The first is at Ambrosia Centro.  I’ve never been and the fact that I’ve been jonesing for Italian helped make that choice pretty easily.  The second is at Eagle’s Nest.  I’ve heard great things about the atmosphere and I thought this might be the perfect time to go without dropping too much money.

If you are participating, where are you dining, and why?  If you aren’t, what prevents you from joining in the dining?

4 Responses to “Devour Downtown (Special Event)”

  1. Theresa Johnson August 9, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    I’m also getting a little bored with the Devour restaurants and menus. I’ll probably go to one or two this time. I’m thinking about the Rathskellar because I haven’t eaten there in a long time.

    • City Nom Noms August 10, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

      I was just at the Rathskellar this past weekend. I always enjoy their food, though we only dine in the bar/biergarten area because of the menu (you can’t get the frikadelle in the main restaurant!) Do enjoy – looking forward to reading about it (and I’m glad I’m not the only one getting bored!)

  2. Laura August 10, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    I ate at Ambrosia and loved it. (I had the Caciucco.) I am not a dessert person, so Devour doesn’t really do it for me. I feel like I’m not getting much value when I have to choose something I don’t want. If a restaurant offered the option of an appetizer, salad, and entree that would be fantastic.

    • City Nom Noms August 10, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

      I love that concept (appetizer, salad and entree). Don’t get me wrong, I like desserts, but I’m much more an appetizer girl. I like the restaurants that offer an alcoholic beverage or dessert – I’d love to have a glass of wine with my meal over dessert too. Great suggestion!

Leave a Reply

